Aarhus University Hospital offers specialised treatment to citizens in the Central Denmark Region and other regions in Denmark. Aarhus University Hospital is the local hospital for citizens in Aarhus city and the island of Samso.

On 1 April 2011, the two somatic university hospitals in the city of Aarhus, Aarhus Sygehus and Skejby, merged into Aarhus University Hospital.

The merger was performed in preparation for The New University Hospital which will become one of the biggest hospitals in Denmark and among the biggest in Europe. The relocation of clinical and research departments will take place from 2014 to 2019 and The New University Hospital will be fully operational in 2020.

Read more about The New University Hospital


The Board of Directors at Aarhus University Hospital consists of Acting Chief Executive Officer Ole Thomsen, Chief Medical Officer Claus Thomsen and Chief Nursing Officer Inge Pia Christensen. 

The Board of Directors has the overall responsibility for treatment and nursing care and the overall running of the hospital.

The hospital consists of five administrative centres organised as professional medical communities and a central adminstration for the entire hospital.

The five centres are:

Abdominal and Paediatric Centre

Acute Centre

Cancer and Inflammation Centre

Head and Heart Centre

Hospital Service Centre

The Centre Management consists of a healthcare professional (typically a medical doctor or a nurse) and an administrative employee.


Key facts

Clinical departments: 44

Number of beds: 1,150
Annual activities:
833,655 out-patient visits (791,925 out-patient visits; 41,730 emergency visits)
100,817 discharges
81,124 surgeries
44,600 endoscopies
4,647 births
10,200 employees
(9,400 full-time positions)